On Friday the 11th May, in Hermitage Golf Club, the Loreto Past Pupils’ Golf Society (the oldest ladies Golf Society in Ireland) celebrated its 70th Anniversary and what a great day and night it proved to be. The Golf Outing & Dinner was attended by over 100+ Loreto Past Pupils from Loreto schools all over Ireland.

The 70th Golf Society Anniversary could not have happened without the foresight and dedication of a number of past pupils, whose tireless work over many years ensured that the golf outing legacy that started in 1942 with 25 players would survive. In particular we are indebted to many wonderful “Loreto Girls” like Rose Harte, Joan O’Reilly, Pat Burke, Nolie Sheridan, Ita McCormack, Lola Dixon, Stephanie Graham, Ina Coleman, Grace Redmond and Margaret Keogh who over the years were the driving force at keeping the Golf Society going.

On the day itself, there was an air of excitement, chatter and laughter around the Hermitage Golf Club as the “Loreto Girls” began to arrive in their droves. Registration was smoothly handled by the ever competent team of Mary O’Gorman, Ann Murray, Ger Rogers and Patricia Gleeson. With everyone registered the girls headed out to their appointed tee boxes with goody bags in hand. The siren went off and so the 70th Loreto Past Pupils’ Golf competition began.

The Hermitage course was in excellent condition and as usual it was a challenging course. During the round players got to experienced all four seasons.!! We had everything from heavy downpours, to hailstones, a little bit of thunder, and then bright blue skies as the sun shone for the last 9 holes which ensured all players and their equipment came home dry.

The “Guest Speaker” on the night was well known Irish Politician Mary O’Rourke, a past pupil of Loreto Bray, who entered the room to a standing ovation. Mary commented later in the evening that she was genuinely touched by the very warm welcome she received. Before dinner, Mary gave us a trip down memory lane telling us about her time at boarding school in Bray. From the go (and without a note in sight!!) with her own very unique and down to earth storytelling ability, Mary had us all roaring with laughter.

Mary also paid tribute to the Loreto Order for the role they played and continue to play in providing top class education to girls all over Ireland and also for the wonderful work they do in their missions worldwide.

Sincere thanks to Mary, for taking time out of her very busy schedule to be our “Guest Speaker” on this special occasion. We have no doubt her happy days in Loreto Bray Boarding School will be featured in her forthcoming autobiography due out next September / October.

Sister Noelle Corscadden, Provincial leader of Loreto Ireland spoke about her recent visit to Rumbek in Southern Sudan, where the Loreto Order are involved with a much needed school building project in order to educate young girls in Sudan.

On the night there was a Raffle and a Charity Auction to raise funds for Noelle’s school in Rumbek. The Charity Auction was very ably handled by our very own ‘Cara Auctioneer Extradonaire Brophy’. A signed Padraig Harrington shirt, a signed Irish Rugby Team shirt, a signed photo of world no.1 Rory McIlroy and many other items raised considerable funds for the Rumbek school in Sudan.- Well done Cara – you had a lovely way of extracting the euro’s out of us!!

Alison Byrne President of the Loreto Past Pupils Union (LPPU) said a few words about the super charity work done by the Union, she also mentioned the great tradition of support between the LPPU and the Loreto Golf Society. Every year the LPPU donates the ‘Gross Prize’ and this year was no exception with a beautiful glass bowl presented to this year’s winner Ann Murray.

On the Golf Course the competition as usual was “very very keen”, with all players totally focused on trying to win the original 1942 Loreto Past Pupils’ Perpetual Trophy. This year’s overall winner was Claire O’Hanlon (nee Murray) who played some super golf and won the Captain’s Prize, for the second time in three years.!! Well done Claire, a fabulous achievement as it’s only the third time in the 70 year history of the Golf Society that anybody has won the Trophy twice. (Pamela Saville won it in 1993 and 2004). Claire, no doubt you will be back again at next year’s outing to try to match the brilliant achievement of Hermitage’s very own Ena Maguire who is the only golfer to ever win the Loreto Past Pupils Golf Society Trophy three times!!!

The very important “Best School Prize” went to Beaufort for the 5th year in succession – so that again secures the “Bragging Rights” for the “Beaufort Girls” for the next twelve months!!. All photo’s taken on the day, along with the list of the various prize winners are currently displayed on the Golf Society website.

By all accounts everyone enjoyed the 70th celebrations. Many thanks to everybody who took the time to email, write and texted us their appreciation of the day. The 70th celebration of our Golf Society was due in no small way to the very hard working and talented Committee, who work tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure that the day was a special and memorable one for all. So sincere thanks to Judy Byrne Murray, Deirdre Naughton, Ann Murray, Mary O’Gorman and Patricia Gleeson who made up this year’s Committee.

Many thanks again to our Golf Society’s “Proud Sponsors” McGuirks Golf (Countrywide) and Marina Beauty Salon (Rathgar). We appreciate their generous sponsorship and we look forward to growing and developing a strong relationship with them for years to come. Discount vouchers for both our sponsors can be downloaded from our website www.loretogolfsociety.com

Prize Winners

Claire O’Hanlon 29 Beaufort 33 points

Mairead McGuinness 20 Foxrock 32 points

Jean Moloney (On Back 9) 14 Foxrock 31 points

Norma Rhattigan 12 Beaufort 31

Ann Murray 10 Crumlin 20

Neasa McKiernan 15 Beaufort 31

Patricia Gleeson 17 Beaufort 30

Avril Sweeney Haughton 17 Beaufort 30

Jane Brown (On Back 9) 24 Beaufort 30

Mags Greenan 22 St Stephens Green 30

Carol Mongan 24 Beaufort 29

Doreen Naughton 32 Abbey, Rathfarnham 27

Christine McAvinue 32 North Gt Georges St 26

Joyce Sullivan 30 Crumlin 25

Claire O’Hanlon 33 Beaufort 95 POINTS
Norma Rhattigan 33
Neasa McKiernan 31

Neasa McKiernan Beaufort 16 INCHES

Norma Rhattigan Beaufort