Our 74th annual golf outing was held on the 27th May in Hermitage Golf Club with a shotgun start at 1.30pm.

On the day we had a great turnout and fortunately we were blessed with a perfect day in every way for golf. We had a fantastic turnout with over 70 golfers.

Siobhan Fahey

It was lovely to catch up with old and new friends from my school days and also all the Loreto Ladies that I have made friends with through the golfing world.

As usual Stephanie Graham and Joan Merrigan, with the assistance of Sally Ann Fanagan and Mary O' Gorman handled the registration of players very efficiently, which ensured that we started right on time and the afternoon remained sunny, warm and dry.

The golf course was in great condition and everybody enjoyed their golf. In response to requests we introduced a ‘Visitors Prize’ this year which was a great success. Throughout the day tickets were sold for a raffle in aid of the Loreto Union charities and Loreto Rumbeck in South Sudan, which was generously supported by all the players and visitors.

We are very grateful to The Sports Surgery Clinic in Santry for their sponsorship once again this year. Ciara Freeney representing the Past Pupils Union presented a beautiful engraved crystal bowl for the Gross Prize which was very generously sponsored by the Union. Before we sat for dinner we were entertained by the fantastic fun loving RUGS (Rathfarnham Ukulele Group) I think it’s safe to say everybody enjoyed the music and craic as I could see lots of foot tapping and clapping of hands.

As always we had a beautiful dinner with fantastic service, after which we had the presentation of the much coveted Loreto Cup which was won by Siobhan Fahey (Balbriggan) A full list of prize winners and photos are included on this page.

Many thanks to all who helped made the outing a great success and who put in a lot of work behind the scenes organising the day. ….. Ann Murray, Mary O’Gorman, Bronwyn O’Donnell, Deirdre Naughton, Stephanie Graham, Joan Merrigan, Sally Ann Fanagan and Eimear Cowhey.

Neasa O’ Nolan
Captain 2016

Golf Results

WinnerSiobhan Fahey 10Balbriggan39 pts
Runner UpMary Barnwell18Crumlin35 pts
GrossAisling RocheBeaufort22 pts
3rdBronagh O’Flanagan34Beaufort35 pts
4thCarol Anne Byrne 20Beaufort34 pts
Winner Class 1Carol Kiely 16Crumlin33 pts
Runner upBarbara Sweny17Nutgrove33 pts
Winner Class 2Sheenagh Sullivan20Dalkey30 pts
Runner upGeraldine Broadens23Wexford30 pts
Winner Class 3Mary O’Rafferty35Beaufort31 pts
Runner upMary O’Leary34Wexford29 pts
Visitor's PrizeAnne Leahy2934 pts
Nearest the PinMary O’Leary 3.35 meters
Longest DriveSheila Farrell
School Prize1. Bronagh O’Flanagan 2. Carol Anne Byrne 3. Mary O’Rafferty